Minnesota State Academy for the Blind Foundation

Empowering students to reach their full potential

Board of Directors

The members of the Board of Directors for the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind Foundation are volunteers who support the Foundation's vision and mission statement. Several key principles have guided the actions and decisions of the Board throughout the Foundation’s history:

  • The majority of Board members are blind, visually impaired, or educators of students who are blind or visually impaired.
  • The Board accepts proposal requests from the Academy for equipment, programs, events and scholarships that the Academy believes will enhance the education of the students and help them develop to their full potential.
  • The Board then follows a review and decision process that respects the knowledge and integrity of the requestors.
  • Board members are committed to acting as Foundation ambassadors, engaging friends, businesses and associates in the quest for funding.
Board meetings for 2019 take place at Vision Loss Resources in Minneapolis (except for the Annual Meeting in May at MSAB in Faribault)) on the third Monday of every other month, from 2:30 to 4:30 p.m.:  Jan. 21, March 18, July 15, Sept. 16, and Nov. 18.


Kim Samrock

Vice President

Christie Traczyk

Michael McGlone


Ezra Kazee


Ross Dunbar
Beth Moline
Jeff Thompson
Jessie Wang

Ex-Officio Members

Minnesota State Academy for the Blind

400 SE 6th Avenue

Faribault MN 55021

Phone: 507-333-4800

Fax: 507-333-4825


Terry Wilding

Education Director

John Davis